Sprintcar All Stars Series - Australian 360 Sprintcar Racing
New Page 1

Home | News | Schedule | Results


New Page 1


Pestka goes down in history
All Stars Media posted Sunday February 25, 2018.

After a drizzly start to the night which forced Time Trials to be abandoned SA27 Daniel Pestka took out the 8th annual Tyson Perez Memorial at Borderline Speedway last night.

Pestka leased a Maxwill 360 Engine for the night and his effort was certainly rewarded. He led flag to flag for the 31 lap tribute race and even with several reds he didn’t look like he was going to be challenged. ‘Winning any memorial race is cool, I remember buying parts from Spud and I remember the day of his accident, it’s pretty cool to win his race and I am very thankful” a thrilled Daniel said at the Presentation.

Home in second was SA33 Mark Caruso who showed his nose a couple of times to Pestka but just couldn’t quite get the job done. Coming home strongly in third after starting in 9th was V83 Chris Solomon. NT26 Tony Moule 4th and V7 Paul Solomon rounding out the top 5.

V29 Michael Tancredi got off to a great start and was quickly in 2nd until he tried to take Pestka on for the led and the 2 had a coming together which unfortunately caused a red light. With major damage he sat the rest of the event on the infield. SA22 Chad Ely was also moving up thru the field running 9th after qualifying through the B Main. Ely dropped a heat and therefore was directly into the B. Running the highline in the A through 1 and 2 he got a bit too high and tagged the wall ending his night also. Young gun Jack Gartner was running the race of his career in 3rd for the first 29 laps until he also tagged the wall then bringing himself slowing into the infield with mechanical damage which was a very disappointing result for the youngster with only 2 to go.

SA5 Trigga Gates made a strong return after sitting out for the last few shows and was tied on high points with Caruso going into the Pole Shoot Out and giving him some well-deserved confidence back. Gates pulled infield with an ill handling car in the early stages of the main.

“The racing was hard and fast all night. There was thrills and spills and highs and lows for all. Everyone will go home with their own story to remember on the night and we are so pleased that we got to finish the show for Spud. We certainly were worried when the light rain started while we were doing hot laps, I was having visions of last year when we only got to run time trials and then were washed out and thinking – please not again.

We have to thank the Committee of Borderline Speedway for all the efforts to keep the night running and give us a great race track under these conditions. The support they give us for our show is fantastic and we really can’t thank them enough.” Promoter Searle said.

A Main results: 1st SA27 Daniel Pestka, 2nd SA33 Mark Caruso, 3rd V83 Chris Solomon, 4th NT26 Tony Moule, 5th V7 Paul Solomon, 6th V34 Brenten Farrer, 7th V16 James Wren, 8th SA44 Dan Evans, 9th V4 Phil Lock, 10th VA29 Terry Rankin, 11th SA95 Jarman Dalitz, 12th V33 Michael Holt, 13th SA96 Brendan Guerin, 14th NSW46 Stacey Galliford, 15th SA16 Jack Gartner-DNF, 16th SA22 Chad Ely-DNF, 17th SA32 Ben Gartner-DNF, 18th VA75 Dave Donegan-DNF, 19th V29 Michael Tancredi-DNF, 20th SA5 Trigga Gates-DNF.

Heat winners: Jack Gartner, Daniel Pestka, Michael Tancredi, Tony Moule, Dan Evans, Mark Caruso

Contingency Winners
IDIGIT Lucky $100 draw – Stacey Galliford - $100 cash
B&B Retaining Walls Lucky 10’s – Terry Rankin – drum of methanol
Bar Up Bull Bars 8 – Dan Evans
Hickmans Tree Maintenance Random Draw – Brenten Farrer
All Star Hot Arse Award – Tony Moule - Fire Extinguisher
Oval Express Magazine Quick Time Award –not run – a year’s subscription to Oval Express Magazine
Melbourne Stainless Steel Last man running Award – Stacey Galliford

SA27 Daniel Pestka


[ Back To Referring Page | Back To News ]

New Page 1

Home | News | Drivers | Series |

Home | News | Results | Gallery | Partners | Schedule | All Stars Team | Contact Us
 Site Designed By: www.racefan.com.au