Sprintcar All Stars Series - Australian 360 Sprintcar Racing
New Page 1

Home | News | Schedule | Results


New Page 1


Solomon Wins the Battle and the War
All Stars Media posted Monday March 5, 2018.

Paul Solomon created history last night at Maxi Moves Timmis Speedway, Mildura when he won an enthralling final A-Main of the series and in doing so become the first 2 time All Stars Series Champ. Heading into the meeting Solomon was a slender 20 points behind eventual runner up Mark Caruso. That margin was widdled away to just 15 points after the qualifying heats and set up what was to be an exciting 30 lap stanza.

Dan Evans started his SA44 on Pole after being high point’s man after the heats and was looking to capitalize on his A-Main starting spot. Lining up alongside him was Michael Tancredi. Tancredi had been having a great season after enlisting the services of Ace Spanner man Tony Bartlett since round 6. Former All Stars champion Brenten Farrer lined up on the second row alongside Solomon whilst Tony Moule and Caruso filled the 3rd row of the grid. Going into the A-Main Caruso just had to finish 6th or better and he would pick up the series win.

The start was a frenetic pace as the 19 combatants thundered into Turn 1. Unfortunately a few cars got together at the front causing Caruso to spin out and be sent to the rear of the field making his task seem even harder. The race restarted and set into a normal pace with Evans shooting away to an unassailable lead picking off lapped cars with ease.

Meanwhile Tancredi was having issues with an ill handling car and started to drift back through the pack before getting too high and clouting the turn 3 wall. Trigga Gates who was enjoying a good consistent and clean run had nowhere to go and unfortunately flipped after contact with Tancredi. Moule also involved and sat out the A-Main on the infield. Jack Gartner also watched from the infield.

Meanwhile the race was starting to hot up for the minor placings with James Wren, Brendan Guerin and Michael Lovegrove all battling for that final podium position with Wren eventually getting that positon at the fall of the chequers. ith the white flag coming out Solomon was right on the tail tank of Evans heading into turn 1. Lap traffic which had its say in everything throughout the race added one last twist to an already action packed final. After 29 and a quarter laps Solomon eased his way under Evans and assumed the lead and powered away with what would be a crucial victory.

The scenario at the start of the race had Solomon needing to win and Caruso to finish 7th or worse. With Caruso finishing 7th Solomon’s win was enough to hand him the overall series win. With points tied atop the leader board Solomon’s win was the tie breaker with his 3 A-Main wins edging out Caruso with 2 for the series.

Defending All Stars champ Chris Solomon finished 6th with Caruso, Jarman Dalitz, Daniel Scott, and Cody Atkins rounding out the top 10. They were followed by Tancredi, Ron Donaldson and Farrer who rode out a nasty ride in turn 3 causing damage to the fence. With the fence requiring some attention it was decided that there would be an open red allowing the teams to fix the damage and get Farrer back out there. Phil Lock and Stacey Galliford rounded out the finishes with Cheian Perret watching the conclusion from the infield.

A Main results: 1st V7 Paul Solomon, 2nd SA4 Dan Evans, 3rd V16 James Wren, 4th SA96 Brendan Guerin, 5th SA9 Michael Lovegrove, 6th V83 Chris Solomon, 7th SA33 Mark Caruso, 8th SA95 Jarman Dalitz, 9th VA91 Dan Scott, 10th SA69 Cody Atkins, 11th V29 Michael Tancredi, 12th V33 Ron Donaldson, 13th V34 Brenten Farrer, 14th V4 Phil Lock, 15th N46 Stacey Galliford, 16th SA98 Cheian Perrett-DNF, 17th SA5 Trigga Gates-DNF, 18th NT26 Tony Moule-DNF, 19th SA16 Jack Gartner-DNF,

Heat winners: Mark Caruso, Dan Evans, Brenten Farrer, Michael Lovegrove

Contingency Winners
IDIGIT Lucky $100 draw – Brendan Guerin - $100 cash
B&B Retaining Walls Lucky 10’s – Cody Atkins – drum of methanol
Bar Up Bull Bars 8 – Jarmin Dalitz
Hickmans Tree Maintenance Random Draw – Michael Lovegrove
Oval Express Magazine Quick Time Award –Brenten Farrer – a year’s subscription to Oval Express Magazine
Melbourne Stainless Steel Last man running Award – Stacey Galliford

Winners are grinners - Team Solomon/Hutchins


[ Back To Referring Page | Back To News ]

New Page 1

Home | News | Drivers | Series |

Home | News | Results | Gallery | Partners | Schedule | All Stars Team | Contact Us
 Site Designed By: www.racefan.com.au